The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson

The Saturday Night Ghost Club

  • Author: Craig Davidson
  • Published: July 9th, 2019 (first published 8/14/18)
  • Publisher: Penguin books
  • Rating: 5/5

saturday night

AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

Goodreads synopsis

A short, irresistible, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of “Stranger Things” and “Stand by Me” about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends.

Growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls–a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place–Jake Baker spends most of his time with his uncle Calvin, a kind but eccentric enthusiast of occult artifacts and conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turns twelve, he befriends a pair of siblings new to town, and so Calvin decides to initiate them all into the “Saturday Night Ghost Club.” But as the summer goes on, what begins as a seemingly lighthearted project may ultimately uncover more than any of its members had imagined. With the alternating warmth and sadness of the best coming-of-age stories, The Saturday Night Ghost Club examines the haunting mutability of memory and storytelling, as well as the experiences that form the people we become.

My thoughts 

This book was nostalgic, and I absolutely loved every page.  when I first heard about this book I was so excited thinking I was getting a middle grade story full of ghosts story but once I started reading I quickly realize how wrong I was.

Jake Baker a neuro surgeon tells us about his childhood memories.  In the story we get the adult Jake and his stories about the brain and some of his experiences with some of his patients, some of these stories were sad and had me shedding some tears but there is a reason for them.  Most of the book concentrate on 12 year old Jake during a summer in the 1980s.  Jake didn’t have any friends so he used to spend his time with his eccentric uncle Calvin  or uncle C, until he meets Billy and his sister Dove.  They become really good friends and Jake starts spending time with Billy and starts bringing him around his uncle shop until one night uncle C decides to have a club name The Saturday Night Ghost Club.

Uncle C starts taking them around town telling Jake, Billy and uncle C’s friend stories about the places they are visiting at night and claims these places are hunted.  Every place has some type of tragic ghost story.  All these story will become one heart wrenching story in the end that left me heartbroken.

This book even though is a bit creepy and dark it brought so many great childhood memories, I just couldn’t put it down and I felt so engrossed in the story that I was sad when I had to put it down.

Overall, this was a very nostalgic read, with lots of feel to it and I absolutely loved it.  If you like stories that bring back good childhood memories, and stories about ghosts and paranormal tales then this is the book for you.

 

 

five-star-rating yellow

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s